MA- Makeup Lovers Anonymous

Salon Effects

Posted on: February 24, 2012

My best friend gave me a coupon to try Sally Hansen’s Salon Effects nail stickers.  I absolutely LOVE them.  I (of course) got the pink zebra print ones that I showed you in my retail therapy haul.  The instructions were a little confusing, but once I figured it out, it was soooo easy.  I do have a few nails that don’t look too great because I was learning while going, but I think from now on, I’ll be able to put them on good.  You get 16 stickers that are all different sizes, a double ended cuticle stick and a mini nail file.  You take the stickers and before you take the protective clear strip off and the backing, you line the sticker up to your nail and pick the most accurate.  The you peel off the clear strip from the front and the backing.  Be careful when you do this because this will leave you with a pretty flimsy sticker.  Holding the sticker in the middle, line it up to your cuticle first.  Then you take the flat end of the cuticle stick and press the sticker on to your nail.  Make sure you fold it over the end of your nail to create a seal, then you just file away the excess.  Its super easy once you get the hang of it.  Folding it over the edge of the nail is key.  I messed up and didn’t do that with some of mine and the edges are rubbing down and chipping.  The ones I did right look great!  These are supposed to last up to 10 days (when you do them right).  My best friend suggested that they are great for nurses/doctors and people who have to wash their hands pretty often.  I’d also say that would include food service and child care.  If you have to wash your hands or apply hand sanitizer often, these would be great for you.  I have showered with them on and gone about my day like normal and they haven’t budged.  Also, if you don’t have a lot of time, having 10 days before you have to change your nail polish would be helpful.  I was a little bummed about the price.  At Wal-mart, they are around $8.60; pretty pricey.  You do get 16 stickers, but you only use 10 and then you’re left with ones that don’t fit.  I’m going to try to maybe cut them to fit my nail.  There is a good amount of waste with this product also.  Each sticker is twice the size it needs to be, so you’re throwing away the protective plastic, the paper backing and half the sticker.  I will most likely try these again, but probably not right away.  Here is a picture of my nails:

I do love the way they look minus the few spots where I didn’t get it to fit right.  Let me know if you’ve tried these and what you think!

Leave a Reply

