MA- Makeup Lovers Anonymous

Watch It Wednesday- How to’s

Posted on: November 30, 2011

My sister sent me an email with a “how to clean makeup brushes” video and it gave me the idea to do some how to videos for this week’s Watch It Wednesday.  I used to think I knew everything about makeup, I mean, I’ve been wearing it since about 5th grade.  But when I started really getting in to buying makeup and watching tutorials, I found a lot of stuff I didn’t know.  I also found some things that made doing and storing makeup easier.  Here’s a few how to videos to help you store and take care of your makeup.

So how many times have you fallen in love with an eye shadow or blush color and it ends up breaking?  You end up with color all over everything and have to throw the broken color away.  Well, you don’t have to throw it away, you can fix it!  Here is KandeeJohnson showing us how to fix them.

I have fallen in love with using actual makeup brushes instead of those little sponge applicators to apply my makeup.  You end up with a more controlled look and can blend better.  Some makeup brushes can be expensive.  They also hold onto dirt and oil from your face and can house bacteria.  Who wants to put bacteria around their eyes or throw away a pricey brush?  I know I don’t, that’s why I clean my brushes every time I use them.  Cleaning them and storing them properly will ensure that they last a long time and that you don’t put anything yucky on your face.  I clean mine every time I use them with e.l.f. brush cleaner spray.  You just spray about 2 pumps onto the brush and then run it around on a clean tissue.  This is good for every day use, but you do need to deep clean your brushes every once in a while (every time for foundation brushes) just to get everything out.  This video is a little long, but here is Michelle Phan showing us how to clean, disinfect and properly store our brushes with average household items.

The days of pencil thin, overly waxed eye brows are over.  Full, clean, perfectly arched eye brows are in.  My eye brows are super light and have stopped growing where they need to grow, so I am constantly looking for videos to show me what to do with my brows.  Badly done brows can ruin an entire look and no one wants to see big bushy eye brows.  Here is MissChievous showing us how she does her lovely brows.

This last video is just kind of for giggles.  MakeupGeekTV did this a while ago and I think it is hilarious.  I hope you enjoy it!

So there you go.  I hope you enjoyed this week’s Watch It Wednesday.  I hope these videos were helpful and please let me know if you have any requests for things you’d like to see.  My lunch break is over so I need to get back to work now!  🙂

Leave a Reply

