MA- Makeup Lovers Anonymous

Pop of Red

Posted on: November 17, 2011

I know its Thrifty Thursday and I haven’t gotten to that post yet, but I wanted to share what my makeup looks like today.  Everyone says you’re not supposed to match your eye shadow to your clothes, but I hate that rule.  If I’m wearing a simple red sweater, I think its ok to have some red eye shadow rather than some off the wall color that doesn’t even look right.  So that’s what I did today.  I had to go to court for a speeding ticket which means I had to look presentable rather than wear my normal sweat pants and t-shirt to work.  I picked my favorite red sweater and did some natural makeup on my eye lid, with just a pop of red in the crease.  I saw a similar look not to long ago on a blog, but I don’t remember which one.  Anyway, for this look I used my new L’Oreal liquid foundation (which I love so far, but we’ll see if it makes my face break out), e.l.f. eye shadow primer, a skin toned color on my lids, red in the crease, blended it up with a nude color and then highlighted the tear duct and brow bone with white.  All the colors are from my e.l.f. palette.  I also used Avon eye liner, Falsies mascara and finished with my Sally Girl highlighter on my cheeks.

Here are pics I took outside my apartment this morning.  Outside during day light seems to be the best way to capture the colors by using the crappy camera on my phone.

I also took a picture under the awful flourescent lights in my office once I got to work.  Here’s that one.

That makes the red look a little brighter than it really is.  I think it’s actually closer to the first set of pictures.  Anyway, let me know what you think.  I hope you enjoy and I’ll get to Thrifty Thursday soon!

Leave a Reply

