MA- Makeup Lovers Anonymous

Current Faves

Posted on: November 14, 2011

I noticed that a lot of other bloggers post about their favorite items and it’s always helpful for me to see what they love, so I figured I’d jump on board and post what I love.  I don’t buy new things enough to do monthly faves, so I’m just doing my current, at the moment faves.  If they change within the next few months, I’ll post a new one.  I hope my faves help you decide what to spend your hard-earned money on!  🙂

First I’ll start with my favorite store.  I know Ulta is not new to most people, but I honestly didn’t know how much makeup they had until a few months ago.  I thought it was just a salon/spa.  I’m so glad I find Ulta because their prices and sales are awesome!  You also get a rewards card with them that collects points every time you make a purchase and once you get a certain amount of points, you can use them on discounts and salon treatments!

Three of my favorite makeup products are available at Ulta for pretty cheap.  The first is my favorite mascara.  I have talked about Maybelline Falsies before, but it really is amazing.  It really makes your eye lashes look long and full as if you were wearing false lashes.  Pretty much all of the looks I’ve posted since I started are JUST using this mascara.  I think one or two are actual false lashes.  This is the only mascara I am using right now and I don’t even really own any others.  I have one Maybelline Great Lash and I think one from Avon, but I NEVER use them.  Falsies is by far my favorite.  It’s by Maybelline, so you can pick it up at any drug store, grocery store, Target, etc; not just at Ulta.

My next two faves are by the same brand; NYX.  This brand is slowly but surely becoming my favorite brand.  It is inexpensive to begin with when you buy it online, but when you add the fact that you can get it at Ulta for just a little more (which evens out once you pay shipping online), it’s even better.  I have followed xsparkage for a long time and she uses the NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in Milk a lot, so I decided to check it out.  I started with Milk and have since gone back and gotten Slate and Cottage Cheese.  It works awesome as an eye shadow base.  If you cover your lid or the area you are planning to apply eye shadow and then blend the pencil out, it becomes creamy, doesn’t crease and holds your makeup in place for a long time.  I used all three of mine in my No Doubt Album Art look.

NYX also has palettes called Runway Collections and the colors looked awesome, so I picked one up.  I got the Champagne or nuetral colors one a few weeks ago.  I LOVE it for a quick wearable look or for when I don’t want an over the top bright look.  It’s great for creating a pretty smokey eye.  The last time I used it (which was yesterday), I finished it up with a NYX gold glitter liner and it looked awesome.  It’s what I used in the natural look on my Weekend Looks post.

If you’re like me, you’ve shopped at Sally Beauty Supply for a long time.  I’ve known about Sally’s for years and have always gone there for my crazy hair color and my fun nail stuff.  It wasn’t until recently that I started looking at their makeup. I saw the Sally Girl loose glitters on another blog and she said they were only $1 each, so I thought I’d go check it out.  I ended up buying six of them.  I have gold, silver, white, pink, purple and teal.   They are so easy to use.  Once I’ve gotten my eye shadow the way I want it, I just cover the area I want the glitter to go with Duo Lash Adhesive, then quickly cover it with the glitter.  The lash adhesive dries clear, so you’re left with awesomely glittery eyes.  I used it in the purple Weekend Looks post.  There’s not much fall out and the fall out that does happen brushes away easily.  If you’ve been following me, you know how much I LOVE glitter.  I even submitted the purple look to xsparkage for a guest look.  Fingers crossed that she picks it!

Last, but certainly not least is a face product.  I adore e.l.f.  I love how affordable their stuff is and the variety of products they offer.  They have everything you could possibly need for your face from makeup, to face wash, to eye lash curlers and much more.  They also carry nail polish and offer affordable prices on palettes and sets.  One of the things I got the last time I placed an order was their Zit Zapper.  It’s in a tube with a roller ball on the tip and all you do it just roll it over the area you’re having trouble with.  If you’re like me, your face breaks out when Aunt Flow comes to visit, so the zit zapper is perfect for rolling onto affected areas quick and easily.  It’s also small so it can go in your purse.  A lot of times, when my face breaks out, I skip my morning makeup routine so that my face can dry out a little bit.  Once I’ve washed my face, I just roll on a little zit zapper and go about my day.  I also roll it on before I put on makeup and it kind of acts as a barrier so the makeup doesn’t make the zit worse.  It’s not instant and doesn’t work over night, but you will definitely notice that your zits go down faster than normal when you start using it.


These are all my current faves.  I have a ton of stuff that I absolutely LOVE, but these are the things that I’m kind of obssessed with at the moment.  I hope you’ve enjoyed this post and find it helpful.  Let me know if you try any of these things and how you feel about them.  AND don’t forget to check out the Introduce Yourself tab.  Happy shopping!

 

Leave a Reply

