MA- Makeup Lovers Anonymous

Stupid Technology

Posted on: September 13, 2011

Ok, so I really wanted to share some more nail stuff with you guys last night, but for some reason the website wouldn’t load on my laptop.  I’m at work right now, so I can’t get too much into talking about nails.  I will try again to post that when I get home because its real cute.  For right now, I’m going to talk about products I’ve tried that I don’t like.

The product I’ve tried that I was the most disappointed with is the Smokey Shadow Blast from Cover Girl.

My sister gave me the pink/burgundy one and I was soooooooo excited to try it because I LOVE a smokey eye and I thought this would make a smokey eye so easy.  BIG let down.  First of all, it loses its shape after the first time you use it so its hard to get it in the crease right.  Speaking of creases, this got all nasty up in my crease.  It didn’t stay nice and smokey, it clumped up after having it on for a little while.  Covergirl has a new smokey eye thing out now that I’m going to try and hope it works better.  Let me know if you try the Smokey Shadow Blast and have a different result than I did.  Maybe I have fat eye lids or something.  lol

Another product I’ve tried and have been disappointed with is e.l.f.’s Face Primer.

After following xSparkage for a while (www.xsparkage.com), I decided to try a face primer.  I usually don’t put anything but makeup on my face because I have super sensitive skin and I break out really easily.  I have heard good things about e.l.f.’s face primer and I LOVE their make up, so I thought I’d give it a try.  Leesha (from xSparkage) talks about face primers all the time and that you should use one to make your makeup last longer, so I figured I’d try e.l.f.’s because they were running one of their many sales.  When I got it and went to use it for the first time, I was kind of grossed out because it literally smells like motor oil.  I thought maybe it was a smell from the FedEx or UPS truck that delivered it, but the more I used it, the more I realized it was the face primer that smelled.  lol.  It’s also very oily.  It sort of sinks in and leaves your skin dry, but on my hands it was oily and made my face a little shiny.  It also (no shocker here for me) made my face break out.  So I stopped using it after about a week.  Once again, if you try this and have a different result, let me know!

The last product I’m going to talk about that I have been slightly disappointed with is the Stripe Rite nail art nail polish.  I have 2, the hot pink one and the silver one.

I have had no issue with the pink and I love it, but the silver is a whole other story.  First of all let me say that it works great on your nails. I LOVE it for making a thin silver line under a black french tip.  The issue I have is more with the consistency of the product and the packaging.  After about a month, the inside part where the brush is separated from the top, so now I have to hold just the little brush because it doesn’t stay in the top.  It has also become very clumpy.  Sometimes I have to use a tooth pick or I end up with a really thick line because the product is so clumped up.  I haven’t tried to add a drop of remover to it yet to thin it out though, but I shouldn’t have to do that.  As an alternative to this product, I LOVE L.A. Color’s Art Deco nail art polishes.  They have thin brushes and work great.  If you’ve tried the silver Stripe Rite and have had a different result let me know!

So there you go.  I hope this is helpful.  Let me know what you’ve tried and didn’t like!

Leave a Reply

